How To

Turning Off Your Location History on Google [How To]

A number of Internet users do not realise that it is possible for anybody with adequate knowledge to track you wherever you are in any corner of the world, as long as you have your phone with you. It is even easier with a service like Google Map. In fact, I have been able to locate people’s homes and offices via Google Map.

In many instances, these people have ‘location history’ always on on their device, which is required by a number of apps and services to function properly. Your location history allows Google to show you useful information, based on where you have been with your device that are hooked to your account.

The good thing is that, if you do not want to expose your locations, then, you can simply turn off your location history and here is how to get that done:

  1. Go to Settings
  2. Click on Location
  3. Scroll to Google Location History and turnit off

You can take it a step further by deleting your location history and this means that all your previous location histories stored on the servers, including places you have visited in the past, will be deleted.

The reality is that this may not be necessary if you care less about who knows where you live or work, but if that bothers you, then, you should take this seriously and always turn off the location feature, especially, when not in use.

Join the Conversation & Possibly WIN a Gift

%d bloggers like this: