Annoucement Telecomms

Professor Adeolu Akande Now NCC Chairman As Changes Made In Parastatals And Agencies Under Communications And Digital Economy Ministry

Professor Adeolu Akande - cfamedia

Professor Adeolu Akande, has been announced as the new chairman, board of commissioners, of the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC. He replaces Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye, who, until the announcement, was the Chairman.

The new appointment is, part of those approved, by President Muhammadu Buhari, for heads of boards and parastatals, under the Ministry of Communication and Digital Economy.
The Special Adviser to the President, on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, stated yesterday that, the decision was part of government’s strategy, for fast-tracking the targets and mandate of the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy.

Other changes made include the appointment of Uche Onwude, who replaces Senator Ifeanyi Godwin Ararume, as Non-Executive Commissioner, at the Commission. The appointments are, however, subject to Senate confirmation.

Changes made at the National Information Technology Agency, NITDA, include the appointment of Dr. Abubakar Sa’id, as Board Chairman of the Board. He replaces Professor Adeolu Akande, who has now been moved to the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC.

Dr. Mohammed Sa’idu Kumo and Dr. Habibu Ahmed Imam, who replaces Dr, Lawal Bello Moriki, have now been approved as board members of the National Information Technology Agency, NITDA.

Dr. Ismail Adebayo Adewusi has, also, been appointed, as the new Postmaster General/CEO of Nigerian Postal Service, (NIPOST). He replaces Barrister Bisi Adegbuyi.

Professor Muhammed Bello Abubakar, now the new Managing Director/CEO of Galaxy Backbone Limited, GBB. He replaces Architect Yusuf Kazaure.

The Nigeria Communications Satellite Limited, NigComSat, now has Architect Yusuf Kazaure, as Board Chairman. He replaces Chief. Dr. George Nnadubem Moghalu. Other members of the NigComSat Board include Dr. Najeem Salam and Professor Abdu Ja’afaru Bambale. They both replace Hon. Samson Osagie and Kazeem Kolawole Raji, as Executive Director, Marketing and Business Development and Executive Director, Technical Services respectively.

Hadi Mohammed, also, replaces Mohammed Lema Abubakar, as Executive Director, Administration, at NigComSat.

Featured Image: megaiconmagazine

Don’t miss important articles during the week. Subscribe to cfamedia weekly newsletter for updates.